Bios & Photos
LibraryChubb in the News

Related Links

John D. Finnegan

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
The Chubb Corporation

John D. Finnegan joined The Chubb Corporation on December 1, 2002, as President and Chief Executive Officer and was elected to the additional position of Chairman of the Board in December 2003.

Founded in 1882, Chubb is one of the world’s leading property and casualty insurers, with 10,200 employees in 120 offices in 26 countries.  The company is best known for outstanding claim service and financial strength.  Its shares are traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol “CB.”

At Chubb, Mr. Finnegan has led employees in delivering bottom-line results for shareholders: $10,000 invested in Chubb shares on December 31, 2002, would have grown to $36,723 by December 31, 2012, compared to $19,858 for the S&P 500 Index and $16,152 for the S&P Property & Casualty Index (including share price appreciation and reinvested dividends).

Over the years of Mr. Finnegan's tenure as CEO, Chubb has won numerous accolades from Fortune, Forbes, Barron's and others for financial performance, service to customers and producers, and diversity leadership.  In 2010, Fitch Ratings ranked Chubb as number-one among the 25 largest property/casualty insurers for financial performance over the previous five-year and ten-year periods.  Chubb was included in Forbes magazine’s 2010 list of  “America's 100 Most Trustworthy Companies.” Chubb is also a past winner of the Catalyst Award for empowering and developing women.

Before joining Chubb, Mr. Finnegan was with General Motors Corporation from 1976 through 2002, most recently as president of General Motors Acceptance Corporation, chairman of the GMAC board of directors and executive vice president of GM.  

Mr. Finnegan earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from Princeton University, a law degree from Fordham University and an M.B.A. from Rutgers University.  He is a member of The Business Roundtable, The Business Council, and former Chairman of the Board of Directors of the American Insurance Association.